NEWS: Alaska Hold Music Goes Live

New Hold Music Features Alaska Artists

Anchorage – The office of Representative Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins (D-Sitka), Alaska State Council on the Arts, Juneau Arts and Humanities Council, the State of Alaska Department of Administration, and GCI are pleased to announce that the State of Alaska hold music now features “Alaska hold music” — a compilation of music by Alaska recording artists.

This initiative is the product of three years of collaborative effort to curate and install new hold music that promotes Alaska musicians and celebrates their rich artistic and economic contribution to our state. With seed funding from the Alaska State Council on the Arts and GCI, the first phase of the project has made existing infrastructure — a combined 15,000 phone lines in Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau — a platform for sharing the talent of Alaska artists.

Through a small sample of Alaskans’ music, the songs reflect the creativity and variety of artists’ work. The initial track list includes the songs “Shaax’ Sáani” by the Sitka-rooted Ed Littlefield and the Native Jazz Quartet, “Blue Bird” by Fairbanks folk band Feeding Frenzy, “Flicker of Light” by electro-pop duo Whiskey Class of Juneau and Ketchikan, “Mother Carries” by the genre-defying ensemble Harm of Fairbanks, and the hit single “Feel it Still” by the rock band, Portugal. The Man, which traces its origins to Wasilla.

A debt of gratitude is owed to the artists who shared their music and the many teams that have volunteered time and energy to make this project a reality. This unique confluence of partners has opened doors for similar initiatives to make a difference in Alaskans’ daily lives.

The project was and is a team effort, and thanks and gratitude radiate in myriad directions. Particular thanks are due to Juneau Arts & Humanities Council Executive Director Nancy DeCherney; music on hold curator Annie Bartholomew; Alaska State Council on the Arts Executive Director Andrea Noble-Pelant; Office of the Governor Deputy Press Secretary Berett Wilber, who got the project off the ground at the very beginning when she worked in Representative Kreiss-Tomkins’ office as a legislative aide; State of Alaska Department of Administration Commissioner Leslie Ridle, Special Assistant to the Commissioner Minta Montalbo, and Chief Technology Officer of Telecommunications Chris White, for ultimately making this project happen on the State of Alaska side; former Commissioner of Administration Sheldon Fisher for providing initial encouragement; former Department of Administration officials Megan Collie and Jim Steele; GCI Vice President of Business Operations Brad Spees and Government Markets Program Director Kent Dumas for ensuring the idea could be realized technically; and KTOO, Juneau’s public media organization, for creative and technical support.

For more information, please visit or contact John Scanlon in the office of Representative Kreiss-Tomkins at or (907) 747-4665.

Check out other press

Phone: 907-465-6791

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801