March 19, 2018

The Coalition working for you

House Urges the Federal Government to Respect Marijuana Legalization in Alaska

Juneau – Today, the Alaska House of Representatives unanimously passed a resolution calling on the federal government to respect states’ rights and the will of the Alaskan people regarding marijuana policy. House Joint Resolution 21, sponsored by Rep. David Guttenberg (D-Fairbanks), also urges the federal government to reconsider its listing of marijuana as a schedule one controlled substance. Other schedule one controlled substances include heroin, LSD, and ecstasy.

Read More »

House Calls for a “Linguistic Emergency” Declaration to Protect Alaska Native Languages

Juneau – Today, the Alaska Legislature passed House Concurrent Resolution 19, sponsored by Representative Dan Ortiz (I-Ketchikan), urging Alaska Governor Bill Walker to declare a “linguistic emergency” to help ensure the survival of Native language in Alaska. House Concurrent Resolution 19 calls on state agencies, the Alaska State Legislature, Alaska Native organizations, and others to work to strengthen policies to prioritize the continued use of Alaska Native languages.

Read More »
Rep. Seaton Newsletter

From the Desk of Representative Seaton: March 19, 2018

Greetings from Juneau on this 63rd day of the session. I hope everyone enjoyed St. Patrick’s Day. The House Finance committee finished with the 97 operating budget amendments in Round 2 and passed the budget from committee last Friday. The budget should be on the House Floor today with amendments starting tomorrow. I anticipate we will pass the budget from the House by the end of this week, depending on….

Read More »

Tuesday’s Press Availability Will Include Reps. Gara, Guttenberg, Claman, and Spohnholz

Juneau – The Alaska House Majority Coalition will hold a press availability Tuesday morning at 9:00 a.m. to answer questions from reporters covering the 30th Alaska State Legislature. Participants will include House Finance Committee Vice-Chair Rep. Les Gara (D-Anchorage), Finance Committee Member Rep. David Guttenberg (D-Fairbanks), House Judiciary Committee Chair Rep. Matt Claman (D-Anchorage), and House Health and Social Services Committee Chair Rep. Ivy Spohnholz (D-Anchorage).

Read More »
Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801