NEWS: Lawmakers Selected to Update Harassment Policies for the Alaska Legislature

Rep. Sam Kito

November 28, 2017

Anchorage – Six members of the Alaska House of Representatives and the Alaska State Senate have been appointed to a subcommittee tasked with reviewing and recommending updates to the harassment policies for the Alaska State Legislature. The Sexual and Other Workplace Harassment Policy Subcommittee will work under the umbrella of the Alaska Legislative Council, Chaired by Rep. Sam Kito (D-Juneau).

“Lawmakers and staff should be free to do the people’s work free of unwanted sexual advances and other forms of harassment. The members chosen to lead this process understand that the Alaska Legislature must be a safe and respectful workplace,” said Rep. Kito.

The new Sexual and Other Workplace Harassment Policy Subcommittee is Chaired by the Legislature’s Human Resources Manager and includes three members apiece from the Alaska House and the Alaska Senate. The House members will be Rep. Matt Claman (D-Anchorage), Rep. Louise Stutes (R-Kodiak), and Rep. Charisse Millet (R-Anchorage). The Senators on the subcommittee will be Sen. Cathy Giessel (R-Anchorage), Sen. Anna MacKinnon (R-Eagle River), and Sen. Peter Micciche (R-Soldotna).

The Sexual and Other Workplace Harassment Policy Subcommittee has been asked to provide recommendations to the full Alaska Legislative Council before the start of the Second Session of the 30th Alaska State Legislature in January.

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Press Secretary Mike Mason at (907) 444-0889.


More from the AK House Coalition

Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801