NEWS: Chairs Announce Working Group Members, Formation of Advisory Group


October 19, 2017

Anchorage – The co-chairs of the legislative working group created by House Bill 111, Sen. Cathy Giessel (R-Anchorage) and Rep. Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage), announced today the working group’s membership, along with the formation of an advisory group.

Working group members from the House joining Rep. Tarr are Rep. Andy Josephson (D-Anchorage), Rep. Dean Westlake (D-Kiana), Rep. Jason Grenn (I-Anchorage), and Rep. Dave Talerico (R-Healy). Working group members from the Senate joining Sen. Giessel are Sen. Bert Stedman (R-Sitka), Sen. Natasha von Imhof (R-Anchorage), Sen. Peter Micciche (R-Soldotna), and Sen. Bill Wielechowksi (D-Anchorage).

The formation of a legislative working group to evaluate Alaska’s fiscal system for oil and gas was part of House Bill 111, a bill that reformed Alaska’s tax credit program for oil and gas companies. The bill was signed into law in July this year, after passing both the House and Senate along strong bipartisan lines.

House Bill 111 also empowered the co-chairs of the legislative working group to form an advisory group. Rep. Tarr and Sen. Giessel announced today that the Oil and Gas Competitiveness Review Board, created in 2013, has accepted the role of being an advisory group to the legislative working group.

The co-chairs plan to schedule an organizational meeting laying out the framework shortly.

Questions can be directed to Rep. Geran Tarr at (907) 269-0144 or Sen. Cathy Giessel at (907) 269-0181.


More from the AK House Coalition

Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801