NEWS: Legislation Naming Two State Ferries Passes the Alaska Legislature


New Ferries will be Named after Alaska Glaciers Tazlina and Hubbard

March 10, 2017

Juneau – Legislation to officially name two new state ferries after the Alaska glaciers Tazlina and Hubbard passed the Alaska State Legislature today.  Senate Bill 33 was introduced on behalf of Alaska Governor Bill Walker.  Earlier today, the bill unanimously passed the Alaska House of Representatives after unanimous support in the Alaska Senate on February 27th.

“Our state ferries are a vital transportation link for many isolated communities and thousands of Alaskans.  These new ferries will strengthen the Alaska Marine Highway System, which must be given the same importance by lawmakers as our vital roads and bridges,” said Rep. Sam Kito (D-Juneau).

Alaska law requires state ferries be named after glaciers and the names Tazlina and Hubbard were chosen through an essay competition by Alaska students.  The winning essays were selected by Governor Bill Walker and Lieutenant Governor Byron Mallott.  7th grader Malea Voran from Port Alsworth put forward the name Tazlina, which means “swift river” in Ahtna Athabascan.  The name Hubbard was put forward by 10th grader Taylor Thompson from Eagle River.  The Hubbard Glacier near Yakutat was named after Gardiner G. Hubbard, the founder of the National Geographic Society.

“The process to name these two great additions to Alaska’s fleet of ferries shows Alaskans love of the natural environment and an appreciation for the creativity of our youth,” said Rep. Dan Ortiz (I-Ketchikan).  “If you read the essays by Taylor Thompson and Malea Voran I think you will come to the same conclusion I did that these are fitting names for our newest state ferries.  I can’t wait for my first ride later this year.”

The ferries Tazlina and Hubbard are under construction at Vigor Alaska in Ketchikan and will come into service late this year. 

SB 33 will now be send to Governor Walker for his signature.

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Press Secretary Mike Mason at (907) 444-0889.


More from the AK House Coalition

Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801