NEWS: House Democrats Announce Leadership for 29th Alaska Legislature

Alaska state and flag

Stable leadership working on priorities for Alaska

November 7, 2014

Anchorage – Today, Alaska’s House Democratic Caucus announced its leadership for the 29th Alaska Legislature and its commitment to honor the voice of the Alaska people in the recent General Election. 

Representative Chris Tuck (D-Anchorage) will continue to serve as Minority Leader for the 29th Alaska Legislature, and Representative Max Gruenberg (D-Anchorage) will remain as the House Democratic Whip. Representative Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage) will serve as the House Democratic Floor Leader.

“The historic results of Tuesday’s General Election show the desire of the people of Alaska for change,” said Minority Leader Tuck. “Alaskans want fundamental freedoms protected, change in how social and economic challenges are met, and budget discipline in today’s challenging fiscal environment. Our caucus will have an overarching goal of ensuring the greatest good while minimizing harm.”

The shared priorities of the members of the House Democratic Caucus include protecting and improving the public education system, addressing the high cost of energy, securing a stable economic future that provides good jobs for Alaskans, and protecting public safety.

“We look forward to working with the Senate and the Governor to set a new course for the State of Alaska,” said House Democratic Whip Gruenberg. “We must set aside political and regional differences and pull together in the coming years to achieve common goals. To be successful all stakeholders must be involved in the process.”

The 2015 Alaska House Minority Caucus

The House Democratic Caucus also announced its assignments to the House Finance Committee. They are as follows:

       Representative Les Gara (D-Anchorage)

       Representative David Guttenberg (D-Fairbanks)

       Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-Fairbanks)

The Caucus also announced its assignments to the House Resources Committee. They are as follows:

       Representative Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage)

       Representative Andy Josephson (D-Anchorage)

The House Democratic Caucus will announce other committee assignments at a later date. 


For more information, contact Mike Mason, press secretary for the House Democrats, at (907) 444-0889.


More from the AK House Coalition

Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801