NEWS: Rep. Guttenberg and Dr. Brigham to Host Public Meeting

Rep. David Guttenberg


October 15, 2014

Public invited to provide input on Alaska Arctic Policy Commission Implementation Plan

FAIRBANKS- Commissioners Dr. Lawson Brigham (University of Alaska) and Representative David Guttenberg (D-Interior/Wade Hampton), join to host a research-focused listening session and public comment opportunity on the current Alaska Arctic Policy Commission’s (AAPC) Implementation Plan on the afternoon of Monday, October 27 from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm. 

The public is invited to join Dr. Brigham and Rep. Guttenberg at the following locations:

In Anchorage- Institute of the North, 1675 C Street, Suite 106.

In Fairbanks- Fairbanks Legislative Information Office (LIO) Conference room, 3rd floor of the Alaska USA Financial Center, 1292 Sadler Way, Suite 307.

By telephone- Dial 855-463-5009. Give the operator your name and tell them you are calling in to join the AAPC meeting (your phone will not automatically be muted).

“Alaskans know better than anyone else in the United States how to live and thrive in the Arctic. The US has a stake in the Arctic because of Alaska and it is our responsibility to provide the best strategies for navigating the Arctic North” stated Rep. Guttenberg.

The Commission invites residents throughout the state to participate in the public process. All voices and perspectives are welcome and appreciated. On October 27, invited testimony will be focused on relevant Arctic research topics, however other testimony relating more broadly to the Implementation Plan will be accepted.

People wanting to make public comments on the AAPC Implementation Plan are asked to attend the listening session on Monday or to submit their comments in writing. Suggestions for new recommendations should be submitted as a completely filled out strategic action plan worksheet to Nikoosh Carlo, AAPC Executive Director ( and/or to the general AAPC email (

“I hope people in the community will come weigh in on our conversation on Monday, especially students conducting Arctic research at the University,” Rep Guttenberg said.  He continued, “Witnessing such a meeting can help illustrate how important student research is and show them that it has a place and that place is informing policy.”

The AAPC is a diverse group of 26 individuals made up of 10 legislators and 16 experts. The AAPC was born out of the Alaska Northern Waters Task Force (ANWTF) in April 2012 per the ANWTF’s recommendation. One of the most important aspects of the AAPC is to influence federal Arctic policy to ensure that the needs of Alaskans come first. 



More from the AK House Coalition

Contact Info:
Graham Judson Press Secretary
(907) 465-5284
120 4th St, Juneau, AK 99801