NEWS: Rep. Guttenberg to Serve on Alaska Arctic Policy Commission

February 3, 2014

JUNEAU– Today, Representative David Guttenberg (D-Interior/Wade Hampton) was appointed to serve on the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission.  The seat reserved for a member of the House Minority became vacant after Representative Beth Kerttula’s departure from the Legislature.

“Alaska makes the United States an Arctic Nation,” said Guttenberg, “and our story is very important for the future of the Arctic. I look forward to working with the dedicated members of this commission to address the challenges and opportunities before us.”

The Alaska State Legislature created the 26 member Alaska Arctic Policy Commission in 2012 to “develop an Arctic policy for the state and produce a strategy for the implementation of an Arctic policy.” On January 30, 2014, the Commission presented its preliminary report and continues to gather input from around Alaska. The final report is due to the Legislature January 30, 2015.



Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801