Rep. Kawasaki to Address Young Elected Officials in Washington D.C.

Rep. Kawasaki to Address Young Elected Officials in Washington D.C.

200 young elected officials from across the U.S. to discuss policies, leadership


Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-Fairbanks) and Representative Lindsey Holmes (D-Anchorage) will join more than 200 young elected officials from across the country in Washington, DC at the sixth annual convening of the Young Elected Officials (YEO) Network. The YEO Network Convening is the largest gathering of young progressive elected leaders in the country. From June 2-5, young leaders will share their experiences, policy initiatives, and best practices and build a lasting network with other young elected officials from across the country.


“I am excited to hear how other young elected leaders are making a positive difference in their communities, and I look forward to sharing an Alaskan point-of-view.” Holmes said.


The YEO Network is directed by Tallahassee Commissioner Andrew Gillum, along with Georgia State Representative Alisha Thomas Morgan, who serves as the Membership Manager. The network stands at more than 500 elected officials from 49 states and includes a diverse and talented group of policy makers and problem solvers. Alaska’s YEO members include Fairbanks Representative Scott Kawasaki, who serves as the State Director, Anchorage Representative Lindsey Holmes, Fairbanks City Councilwoman Emily Bratcher and Fairbanks Borough Assemblyman Joe Blanchard. The YEO Network mission is to unite and support young leaders who share a passion for building communities that reflect values of freedom, fairness and opportunity.


“I hope to bring a slightly different perspective to the dialogue on energy policy and show them that Alaska is truly the ‘energy state,’ especially since Alaska offers so many valuable energy resources.” said Representative Kawasaki who will lead a workshop on state energy and environmental policies.


Young elected officials, under age 35, represent 4.8 percent of all elected leaders in congressional, gubernatorial, legislative, and city and county commission seats in the United States according to a Rutgers University Eagleton Institute of Politics study.


The YEO Network is a program of the People for the American Way Foundation and travel and expenses are paid for by the PFAW.



Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801