Rep. Johnathan Kreiss-Tomkins

Public Voting Has Begun in Alaska’s Inaugural License Plate Design Competition

September 22, 2017

Sitka – The Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) and Representative Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins (D-Sitka) are pleased to open public voting for Alaska’s Artistic License.

In total, ASCA received one hundred and forty design submissions from Alaskans all over the state. A panel of celebrity judges (Alaska First Lady Donna Walker, celebrated Ketchikan artist Ray Troll, Anchorage Senator Mia Costello, Juneau filmmaker and artist Pat Race, musician and business owner Phillip Blanchett, Iditarod musher Aliy Zirkle, author and Inupiaq speaker Roy Agloinga, and Sitka Rep. Kreiss-Tomkins) chose as finalists the highest quality designs that best celebrated our unique Alaskan identity.

The five final license plate designs are now up for public vote. Cast your vote at this website:

The winning design will be available for purchase from the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for four years and no more than four years, at which time it will be retired, and a new Artistic License competition will be held.

The Artistic License Plate Competition is a partnership between ASCA, Alaska DMV, and Rep. Kreiss-Tomkins.

“The competition inspired a deep appreciation for Alaska’s unique arts, culture, and way of life,” said Rep. Kreiss-Tomkins. “All of the submitted designs highlighted the incredible beauty in our day-to-day lives as Alaskans.”

Voting ends October 31, 2017, and the winner will be announced by November 30, 2017.

For more information, please contact Calvin Zuelow in Rep. Kreiss-Tomkins’ office at (907) 747-4665 or at