NEWS: The House is Waiting for Progress in the State Senate

Juneau – The leadership of the Alaska House Majority Coalition has decided to hold a limited number of technical floor sessions for the remainder of the week to allow House members to travel back to their home districts for the Memorial Day Holiday. This will allow members to engage with constituents about the important issues under consideration during the Special Session called by Alaska Governor Bill Walker. Allowing lawmakers to go home also saves the state money since lawmakers will not be collecting per diem in their home districts.

Read More →

NEWS: Resources Committee Co-chairs will Lead Effort to Reform Unsustainable Oil Industry Subsidies

Juneau – On Monday, Speaker of the House Rep. Bryce Edgmon (D-Dillingham) appointed House members to negotiate a compromise on legislation to reform Alaska’s unsustainable oil tax credit system that passed both the House and Senate. House Resources Committee Co-chairs Rep. Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage) and Rep. Andy Josephson (D-Anchorage) will represent the House Majority on the conference committee. The House Minority will be represented by Rep. Dave Talerico (R-Healy). The State Senate is expected to appoint their members to the conference committee on Wednesday.

Read More →

Speaker Edgmon’s May 18th Newsletter: 121-Day Session Ends without Budget; Governor Calls Special Session

Rep. Bryce Edgmon

Immediately after the House and Senate adjourned on Wednesday night, Governor Walker issued a proclamation for a 30-day special session that began at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday morning. Because the Legislature has not yet passed the Operating and Mental Health Budgets, and with no agreement reached on a fiscal plan to address our deficit of between $2.5 and $3 billion, and because there was not the three-quarters vote necessary for the Legislature itself to extend the session, the governor had no choice.

Read More →