Governor Walker Signs Priority Public Safety Legislation

Governor Walker Signs Priority Public Safety Legislation

House Bill 312 Gives Law Enforcement, Prosecutors, and Judges Necessary Tools

Juneau – Today, Alaska Governor Bill Walker signed legislation sponsored by Representative Matt Claman (D-Anchorage) to improve public safety, provide safer neighborhoods for Alaska’s families, and protect the state’s medical professionals.

“House Bill 312 passed by near-unanimous votes: 19-0 in the Senate and 31-1 in the House. The vote shows the Legislature’s recognition that justice reform is working. We rejected arguments to repeal and replace past legislation and favored balanced monitoring and review focused on improving public safety,” said Rep. Claman.

House Bill 312 accomplishes the following:

  • Ensures consideration of a defendant’s out-of-state criminal history in pre-trial release decisions;
  • Strengthens the pre-trial release assessment for those charged with vehicle theft and other felonies;
  • Gives Alaska’s Attorney General the authority to criminalize dangerous new controlled substances;
  • Increases surcharges imposed for felonies, misdemeanors, and violations and puts the increased revenue into public safety funding; and
  • Provides much-needed tools to help police and prosecutors reduce crimes against our medical professionals.


“Taking positive steps and working to improve public safety for Alaska remains a top priority. Listening to the public, practitioners, and the Departments of Law and Public Safety, I sponsored House Bill 312 to give practitioners, judges, and law enforcement the tools they need to address the greatest public safety needs in Governor Walker’s Public Safety Action Plan,” said Rep. Claman.

For more information, please contact Lizzie Kubitz in Rep. Claman’s office at (907) 465-4904.

For more information, please contact Lizzie Kubitz in Rep. Claman’s office at (907) 465-4904.

Mike Mason
Press Secretary, Alaska House Majority Coalition
Phone: (907) 444-0889

Alaska House Majority Coalition

Rep. Bryce Edgmon
Speaker of the House
Toll-Free +1 800 898-4451
Room 208 Capitol Bldg.

Rep. Chris Tuck
Coalition Leader
Toll-Free +1 (866) 465-2095
Room 204 Capitol Bldg.


Amory Lelake 465-4451
Caucus Staff
Aurora Hauke 465-5051
Caucus Staff
Mike Mason 444-0889
Press Secretary