NEWS: Senate Bill 54 Becomes Law; Will Help Make Alaska Safer

NEWS: Senate Bill 54 Becomes Law; Will Help Make Alaska Safer

Speaker Edgmon Pledges Cooperation to Fix Constitutional Flaw in Crime Bill

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 27, 2017

Anchorage – Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon (D-Dillingham) released the following statement upon learning that Alaska Governor Bill Walker has signed Senate Bill 54 into law.

“Senate Bill 54 does many good things, including toughening up penalties for theft and other crimes that are making Alaskans feels less safe in their homes and businesses. The bill gives law enforcement many of the tools they asked for to respond to the current crime-wave, and it sends a clear message that criminal behavior in Alaska will not go unpunished,” said Rep. Edgmon. “I, like many of my colleagues, am troubled by the bill’s Constitutional issue, which the Legislature could have remedied had the Senate been willing to convene a conference committee. We now hope that the court system will be able to address the issue as quickly as possible without the need for another crime bill in the next legislative session.”

Senate Bill 54 was signed into law by Governor Walker just after midnight today. Many of the provisions in the bill became effective immediately upon the signature of the Governor.

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Press Secretary Mike Mason at (907) 444-0889.

###

Rep. BRYCE EDGMON

Speaker of the House

District: 37
Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Party: Democrat

Toll-Free +1 800 898-4451

Session Contact

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801 
Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

Interim Contact

1700 W Benson Blvd, Room 416
Anchorage AK, 99503
Phone: 907-269-0275
Fax: 907-269-0274
STAFF:
Adam Berg
+1 (907) 269-0164
Chief of Staff
Adam.Berg@akleg.gov
Timothy Clark
+1 (907) 269-0164
Legislative Aide
Timothy.Clark@akleg.gov
Amory Lelake
+1 (907) 269-0275
Legislative Aide
Amory.Lelake@akleg.gov
Tyra Smith-MacKinnon
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Tyra.Smith-MacKinnon@akleg.gov
Mike Mason
+1 (907) 444-0889
Press Secretary
Michael.Mason@akleg.gov
Drew Cason
+1 (907) 575-2068
Assistant Press Secretary
Drew.Cason@akleg.gov