NEWS: Speaker Edgmon Celebrates Forward Progress on the AK LNG Project

NEWS: Speaker Edgmon Celebrates Forward Progress on the AK LNG Project

Alaska is Perfectly Situated to Supply Natural Gas to Asian Markets

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 8, 2017

Juneau – Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon (D-Dillingham) issued the following statement in response to tonight’s announcement that the State of Alaska has entered into a joint development agreement for the long-awaited Alaska LNG Project. The agreement was signed by representatives from the State of Alaska, the Alaska Gaseline Development Corporation (AGDC), the Bank of China, the China Investment Corporation, and the oil and gas company Sinopec.

“I look forward to seeing the details, but at first glance, this joint development agreement is very encouraging for the thousands of Alaskans who never lost hope that a natural gas pipeline could one day become a reality. Alaska is home to tremendous natural gas reserves and today’s agreement shows that we are perfectly situated to supply liquefied natural gas to Asian markets,” said Rep. Edgmon. “The members of the Alaska House Majority Coalition fought to keep the AK LNG project alive by keeping money in the budget, and it appears that was the right decision. A pipeline project will bring jobs, investment, and, perhaps most importantly, a renewed sense of hope that Alaska’s best days are ahead of us, not behind.”

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Press Secretary Mike Mason at (907) 444-0889.

###

Rep. BRYCE EDGMON

Speaker of the House

District: 37
Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Party: Democrat

Toll-Free +1 800 898-4451

Session Contact

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801 
Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

Interim Contact

1700 W Benson Blvd, Room 416
Anchorage AK, 99503
Phone: 907-269-0275
Fax: 907-269-0274
STAFF:
Adam Berg
+1 (907) 269-0164
Chief of Staff
Adam.Berg@akleg.gov
Timothy Clark
+1 (907) 269-0164
Legislative Aide
Timothy.Clark@akleg.gov
Amory Lelake
+1 (907) 269-0275
Legislative Aide
Amory.Lelake@akleg.gov
Tyra Smith-MacKinnon
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Tyra.Smith-MacKinnon@akleg.gov
Mike Mason
+1 (907) 444-0889
Press Secretary
Michael.Mason@akleg.gov
Drew Cason
+1 (907) 575-2068
Assistant Press Secretary
Drew.Cason@akleg.gov