NEWS: Alaska House Majority Coalition Reacts to Addition of Criminal Justice Reform to October Special Session Agenda

NEWS: Alaska House Majority Coalition Reacts to Addition of Criminal Justice Reform to October Special Session Agenda

Coalition Members Committed to Constituent Safety and Effective Corrections

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
September 15, 2017

Anchorage – Members of the Alaska House Majority Coalition today reacted to Alaska Governor Bill Walker’s press conference announcing his intention to include criminal justice legislation on the call for the October special session (which had previously been dedicated to finding new revenue).

“We are committed to seriously considering policy recommendations that evidence shows will make Alaskans safer,” said Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon  (D-Dillingham). “I know that public safety is a priority for our coalition and we will absolutely do what is in our power to keep Alaska families safe.”

“On the one hand, our scarce resources and criminal justice policies need to focus on keeping dangerous criminals off the street. On the other hand, the Legislature must also act on our long term fiscal situation this fall. Cuts to prosecutors, State Troopers, substance abuse treatment, and local law enforcement all contribute to crime rates. If we want to reverse those cuts, or invest in combating drivers of crime like the opioid epidemic and ongoing recession, we must fix our fiscal footing first.”

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Deputy Press Secretary Drew Cason at (907) 575-2068.

###

Rep. BRYCE EDGMON

Speaker of the House

District: 37
Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Party: Democrat

Toll-Free +1 800 898-4451

Session Contact

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801 
Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

Interim Contact

716 W. 4th Ave. Suite 612
Anchorage AK, 99501-2133 
Phone: 907-269-0275
Fax: 907-269-0274
STAFF:
Adam Berg
+1 (907) 465-4451
Chief of Staff
Adam.Berg@akleg.gov
Timothy Clark
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Timothy.Clark@akleg.gov
Amory Lelake
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Amory.Lelake@akleg.gov
Tyra Smith-MacKinnon
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Tyra.Smith-MacKinnon@akleg.gov
Mike Mason
+1 (907) 444-0889
Press Secretary
Michael.Mason@akleg.gov
Drew Cason
+1 (907) 575-2068
Assistant Press Secretary
Drew.Cason@akleg.gov