NEWS: Speaker Edgmon Statement on Status of the Special Session

NEWS: Speaker Edgmon Statement on Status of the Special Session

Coalition Members Determined to Reach the Right Fiscal Solutions for Alaska

June 2, 2017

Juneau – Speaker of the Alaska House of Representatives, Rep. Bryce Edgmon (D-Dillingham), today released the following statement regarding the ongoing special legislative session and approaching deadline to avoid a government shutdown.

“The pink slips that nearly 20,000 state workers received this week have cast a shadow of doubt over households throughout the state. This uncertainty affects not only Alaskans employed directly by the state, but also many employed in the private sector, from realtors to commercial fishermen, who rely on state services daily in order to engage in their profession.”

“The House Majority Coalition is determined to end this period of uncertainty, avoid a state government shutdown, and reach a fair and sensible compromise with the Senate.”

“Alaskans have had enough of the strain in their lives that eleventh-hour negotiations cause, and we know that. This is the third year in a row that budget negotiations have spilled over into special sessions. Nothing could better underscore the need to balance the budget and return the state to enduring fiscal stability. Reaching the right solutions in the coming days will finally put an end to year after year of session overtime and the stresses that puts on Alaskans.”

“Negotiations between the House and Senate leadership have been ongoing throughout the special session. Next week, conference committees for the Operating Budget and the oil & gas tax reform bill are scheduled to meet. They are focused on finding common ground and forging agreements.”

For more information, please contact Alaska House Majority Coalition Deputy Press Secretary Drew Cason at (907) 465-6791.



Speaker of the House

District: 37
Party: Democrat

Toll-Free +1 800 898-4451

Session Contact

State Capitol Room 208
Juneau AK, 99801 
Phone: 907-465-4451
Fax: 907-465-3445

Interim Contact

1700 W Benson Blvd, Room 416
Anchorage AK, 99503
Phone: 907-269-0275
Fax: 907-269-0274
Adam Berg
+1 (907) 269-0164
Chief of Staff
Timothy Clark
+1 (907) 269-0164
Legislative Aide
Amory Lelake
+1 (907) 269-0275
Legislative Aide
Tyra Smith-MacKinnon
+1 (907) 465-4451
Legislative Aide
Mike Mason
+1 (907) 444-0889
Press Secretary
Drew Cason
+1 (907) 575-2068
Assistant Press Secretary